Jeli Eels

I was driving in Kelantan recently on the way to a north Malaysian town called Jeli when I noticed some unusual items being sold at the roadside.

IMG_6080

On closer inspection they turned out to be eels, still alive and writhing around in plastic bags. I believe Ikan Keli translates as catfish but they looked like eels to me. Maybe the blue plastic container at the foot of the photo is for catfish.

IMG_6081

The vendor told me that he caught the eels in the lake next to the road.

IMG_6082

He should consider opening a Japanese grilled eel restaurant here to improve his profit margins.

Later the same day I spotted another slithery thing draped over a milestone.

IMG_6087

Presumably this unfortunate snake (python perhaps?) had been run over while trying to cross the road.

IMG_6088

Not something you see every day, even in Malaysia!

Leave a comment